Contemporary Art


Blog written by Sarah Jones of Jones Gallery + Studio. News from her studio, discussions of process, and thoughts on art + design. 

Project 100: Day Seventeen

No. 117, mixed media on canvas, 6x6 inches, 2013


Tomorrow evening is the 1st Annual Canaport LNG Faces of Fusion Greater Saint John Youth Achievements Awards. It is deeply gratifying and encouraging to be first nominated for one of these awards by the community and to then be selected by the panel. I am looking forward to seeing some familiar faces tomorrow. 

This is release from Fusion: 

FUSION is thrilled to announce the winners of the 1st Annual Canaport LNG Faces of FUSION Greater Saint John Youth Achievement Awards.

Our panel of judges was comprised of Kathryn McCarroll, Executive Director at the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation, His Worship Mayor Mel NortonMark de Jonge, London 2012 Olympic Bronze Medalist, Jane MacEachern, Chair of FUSION Saint John, Deborah Armstrong, member of the FUSION Saint John Community Advisory Board and President of Armstrong Human Resource Specialists, and Kate Shannon of Canaport LNG. Our judges were impressed by the number and quality of applications and nominations that were received. It is clear that there are a great number of young people in our region that are working to make the Saint John region a better place to live, work and play. We are impressed and inspired of the work performed by all of applicants and nominees. After reviewing the numerous applications and nominations received, our panel of judges have selected the following recipients:

  • Business & EntrepreneurshipKiera Fraser, Owner of Je Suis Prest
  • Personal AchievementHeather Atcheson, Saint Malachy’s Memorial High School
  • Arts & CultureSarah Jones, Jones Gallery
  • Sports & RecreationRebecca Atkinson, Cox & Palmer
  • Community BuildingCraig Estabrooks, Port Saint John

Congratulations to all our recipients!

The Canaport LNG Faces of FUSION Greater Saint John Youth Achievement Awards will be held on February 1st, 2013 beginning at 5:30 p.m. We hope you will join us in celebrating the success of our recipients and all that the greater Saint John region has to offer. For more information, or to purchase tickets, please see